The TCVCOG is a non-profit organization that facilitates multi-municipal efforts and implements efficient, cost-effective programs on behalf of its members. The organization operates under a set of written by-laws and is governed by a Board of Directors.

The TCVCOG was founded in 1971 when eleven municipalities recognized a benefit to working cooperatively and sharing services. Currently, there are twenty municipalities in the TCVCOG with total population of approximately 177,286.

Member municipalities join the COG through Council resolution. Each member pays annual dues of $4,590 and is entitled to appoint two representatives to the Board of Directors – one voting and one alternate delegate. Board officers are elected for two-year terms on the even years. The four officers and the previous Chairman make up the Executive Committee.